Search
  • Rossella BLUE Mocerino

Artists and Self-Portraits

Updated: May 9, 2018

I have never been interested in doing portraits or self-portraits although I did a few self-portraits earlier on. Many artists, on the other hand, do not feel the same as I do. Here is a self portrait by Chuck Close. #artistsselfportraits #selfportraits

self-portrait by Chuck Close

Here is A Portrait of a Man by Van Eyck. Many believe it is actually a self-portrait. I love turbans. #vaneyck

self-portrait by Van Eyck

Self-portraits were an integral part of Frida Kahlo’s art. Shown here: Self-Portrait with Thorn Necklace and Hummingbird. #fridakahlo

self-portrait by Frida Kahlo

Here is an unconventional self-portrait by Salvador Dali. Shown here is Soft Self-Portrait with Grilled Bacon. Notice his iconic, upturned moustache. #salvadordali

self-portrait by Salvador Dali

Another artist who did many self-portraits throughout his life is Giorgio de Chirico. Here is his first self-portrait. He also depicted himself in costume in many of his self- portraits. #giorgiodechirico

self-portrait by Giorgio de Chirico

Louise Bourgeois is known mainly as a sculptor but here is a self-portrait on paper. Notice the mask superimposed on the body of the feline animal. #louisebourgeois

self-portrait by Louise Bourgeois

Artist Yayoi Kusama is a celebrated contemporary artist. All her installations are about polka dots. Here is one of her self-portraits. #yayoikusama

self-portrait by Yayoi Kusama

Artists are very observant and often brutally honest in depicting others. But what about when they depict themselves? Yes, they are brutal in how they see themselves also. Here is a self-portrait by Lucian Freud. #lucianfreud

self-portrait by Lucian Freud

I do not like the work of Norman Rockwell. To me his art is mediocre at its best and cloying at its worst. I am posting his self-portrait here to show how mirrors have helped artists do self-portrait. #normanrockwell

self-portrait by Norman Rockwell

Here is another take on a self-portrait. Shown here The Painter in his Studio by Johannes Vermeer. #johannesvermeer

The Painter in the Studio by Johannes Vermeer

I do not participate in group shows anymore. You never get to understand anybody ‘s work that way and often a lot of unsatisfactory work ends up in group shows. But if you were to name the right cast of characters, then yes I would reconsider. One such artist is Kehinde Wiley. Here is his self-portrait. #kehindewiley

self-portrait by Kehind Wiley

Here is a self portrait of an artist at his most vulnerable and self-destructive stage . . . and perhaps crazed state of mind. After all most of us do not cut off our own ears. #vincentvangogh

self-portrait by Vincent Van Gogh

Here is the most disturbing self-portrait I have come across. Depicted here is The Desperate Man by Gustave Courbet. #gustavecourbet

The Desparate Man by Gustave Courbet

You would not expect Marcel Duchamp to have created a traditional self-portrait. Here is his self-portrait in profile. #marcelduchamp

self-portrait by Marcel duchamp

If we are talking about self-portraits, we have to include the latest form of a self-portrait, the selfie. Here is master of disguise, Cindy Sherman doing selfies. #cindysherman

selfie by Cindy Sherman

Here is the iconic Da Vinci’s self-portrait. Dead since 1519 and still breaking the record for the highest price paid for a painting. Good work Signor Da Vinci. #leonardodavinci

self-portrait by Leonardo Da Vinci

Here is a self-portrait by Francis Bacon. “I loathe my face . . . I’ve done a lot of self-portraits, really because people have been dying around me like flies and I’ve nobody else left to paint but myself.” #francisbacon

self-portrait by Francis Bacon

Here is Picasso’s Self-Portrait Facing Death, done a year before his demise. The gaze is terrified but brave. #pablopicasso

self-portrait by Pablo Picasso

Here is the portrait of Maestro Giuseppe Verdi by Giovanni Boldini and my self-portrait as Verdi. Verdi is my favorite Opera composer and we were born on the same day of the year. This is also a glimpse into my pre BLUE identity. #giovanniboldini #giuseppeverdi #rossellabluemocerino

Giuseppe Verdi by Giovanni Boldini

self-portrait by Rossella BLUE Mocerino

Andy Warhol did many self-portraits in drag. #andywarhol

self-portrait by Andy Warhol

This painting terminates my foray into self-portraits. It’s from the Baroque period and it is by Giovanni Battista Salvi da Sassoferrato. Not as well known as all the other painters I featured but nevertheless a worthy example of the genre. Look at the beauty of his lines and the very clear execution of his shapes. #giovannibattistasalvidasassoferrato

Self- portrait by Giovanni Battista Salvi da Sassoferrato.